BJP’s Goa Candidate List – An Insight

This time the political scenario of Goa’s assembly election differs from 2017 due to one major fact-BJP is contesting on all 40 seats out of which 12 candidates are fielded from the Catholic community. Here is what we know so far-  

                                        Bharatiya Janata Party’s Goa Candidate List

Gender Breakdown 

Out of 40 candidates in the list, 37 are male candidates and 3 are female candidates.  

1st Runner Ups

3 male candidates who lost by a margin of 4.13% to 20.57% have been given the tickets for the upcoming assembly election.  

Sitting MLAs 

10 sitting MLAs who won the 2017 assembly election with a margin range of 0.81% to 41.84% were given the tickets once again. CM Pramod Sawant, two-time MLA from Sanquelim constituency, is contesting from the same constituency in the upcoming assembly election.  

New Candidates 

BJP introduced 11 new candidates out of which 9 are male candidates and 2 female candidates.  

LOTA Candidates 

There are overall 16 candidates, 15 male and a female candidate, who switched their allegiances to BJP. They include 10 INC candidates, 3 MGP candidates, 2 independent candidates, and 1 UGP candidate.  

We will be continuously evaluating the candidate list and sharing our insights. Stay tuned to checkout our data visualizations, explore electoral constituency data, take part in surveys, and engage in stimulating conversations. You can also download our app, available on both App store and Play Store