UPA’s (INC+GFP) Goa Candidate List – An Analysis

Out of 40 seats, The India National Congress is contesting on 37 seats and Goa Forward Party, on the other hand, is contesting on the remaining 3 seats. Both the parties are in an alliance and fighting the 2022 Goa Legislative Assembly Election together. Here is what the United Progressive Alliance (INC+GFP) candidate list for the State reveals:  

UPA’s (The India National Congress+ Goa Forward Party) Goa Candidate list

Gender breakdown 

Out of 40 candidates in the list, 38 are male candidates and 2 are female candidates.  

Sitting MLAs 

Vijai Sardesai, who won the 2017 assembly election by a margin of 5.79% was given the ticket once again. Similarly, Digambar Kamat won the 2017 election with a margin range of 18.67% was also given the ticket to the upcoming election.  

1st Runner Ups 

4 candidates who lost the 2017 assembly election with a margin range 0.81% to 29.98% were also given the tickets to the upcoming election.  

Lota Candidates 

Overall, there are 16 candidates- 14 male and 2 female, who switched their allegiances to UPA. They include 6 BJP candidates, 2 AAP candidates, 4 independent candidates, and 4 candidates from other parties.  

New Candidates 

The UPA (INC+GFP) introduced 18 new (first- time) male candidates to the candidate list.  

Download the Meradesh app to personally analyze the constituency of your choice, view historical data, and take part in stimulating conversations. The Meradesh App is available on both App Store and Google Play 

Or check out the platform if you wish to employ data and location intelligence to strengthen your campaign management.