Assembly Constituency Watch: Vatva


Vatva assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) – Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 42, Odhav (OG) – 47 

Daskroi Taluka (Part) Villages – Kanbha, Kujad, Bakrol Bujrang, Gatrad, Memadpur, Bibipur, Geratnagar, Vanch, Dhamatvan, Vinzol, Vatva, Hathijan, Singarva (CT), Vastral (M), Ramol (M) 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Vatva | Machine Dalal
Vatva Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 230317 and the turnout stood at 69.24%, in real numbers- 159483 voters. 2017 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 311887 electors, 68.37% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-213251 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Vatva | Machine Dalal
Vatva Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Pradipsinh Bhagvatsinh Jadeja gained a vote share of 61.49% and defeated INC’s Patel Bipinchandra Rugnathbhai (Bipinkaka) whose vote share stood at 32.24%. The remaining candidate in the fray was an independent candidate Sandhi Daud Ismail with 1.05% vote share. 1.15%of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Unjha |Meradesh
Vatva Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Vatva | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 95580 votes that increased to 131133 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 48648 votes in 2012 and 68753 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC managed to win 6 seats in 2017 elections. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –