Assembly Constituency Watch: Vav


Vav assembly constituency is located in Banaskantha district and consists of:  

  • Vav Taluka 
  • Bhabhar Taluka 
  • Santalpur Taluka (Part) of Patan District Village – Kesargadh 
  • Suigam Taluka 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Vav | Machine Dalal
Vav Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 226005 and the turnout stood at 77.82%, in real numbers- 175883 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 257102 electors, 81.72% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-210110 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Vav | Machine Dalal
Vav Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Thakor Geniben Nagaji gained a vote share of 48.70% and defeated BJP’s Chaudhary Shankarbhai Lagdhirbhai whose vote share stood at 45.53%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Brahmkshatriya Bhagvatiben Khetsinhbhai with 1.26% vote share. 1.79% of votes were under NOTA. 

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Vav |Meradesh
Vav Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Vav | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency with 72640 votes which increased to 95673 votes in 2017 but proved insufficient to retain the seat. On the other hand, INC garnered 60729 votes in 2012 and with a significant increase to 102328 votes in 2017 went on to win the constituency. Overall, INC dominated the district of Banaskantha in 2017 by winning 5 seats.  BJP scored 3 seats and 1 seat went to an independent candidate. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –