Assembly Constituency Watch: Varachha Road


Varachha Road assembly constituency is located in Surat district and consists of:  

Surat City Taluka (Part) – Surat Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 28, 43, 44, 45. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Varachha Road | Machine Dalal
Varachha Road Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 185467 and the turnout stood at 68.70%, in real numbers- 127420 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 198634 electors, 63.10% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it translates to 125333 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Varachha Road | Machine Dalal
Varachha Road Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Kishor Kanani (Kumar) gained a vote share of 54.63% and defeated INC’s Gajera Dhirubhai Haribhai whose vote share stood at 43.46%. The remaining candidate in the fray was an independent candidate Satish Prajapati (S.P.) with 0.31% vote share. 0.85% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Vatva |Meradesh
Varachha Road Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Vatva | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 68529 votes and 68472 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 48170 votes in 2012 and 54474 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Surat in 2017 by winning 15 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –