Assembly Constituency Watch: Talcher


Talcher assembly constituency is located in Anugul district and consists of:  

Talcher, Talcher block and 7 GPs (Kaniha, Kamarei, Badatribida, Santribida, Bijigol, Badagunduri and Jarada) of Kaniha block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Talcher | Machine Dalal
Talcher Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 159754 and the turnout stood at 75.28%, in real numbers- 120268 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 178666 electors, 70.98% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-126825 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Talcher | Machine Dalal
Talcher Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Brajakishore Pradhan gained a vote share of 55.20% and defeated BJP’s Kalandi Charan Samal whose vote share stood at 36.20%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Suresh Chandra Behera with 3.60% of vote share and independent candidate Manoj Kumar Pradhan with 3.40% vote share. 

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Talcher |Meradesh
Talcher Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Talcher | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 56465 votes and 70044 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 42143 votes in 2014 and 45942 votes in 2019 while INC received 14396 votes in 2014 and 4621 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Anugul in 2019 by winning all 5 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –