Assembly Constituency Watch: Talsara


Talsara assembly constituency is located in Sundargarh district and consists of:  

Balisankara block, Bargaon block, Subdega block and ten Gram panchayats of Lephripada block.[ 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Talsara | Machine Dalal
Talsara Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 196767 and the turnout stood at 70.66%, in real numbers- 139035 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 206852 electors, 73.40% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, it was a reasonable jump-151834 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Talsara | Machine Dalal
Talsara Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Bhabani Shankar Bhoi gained a vote share of 39.70% and defeated BJD’s Stephen Wilson Soreng whose vote share stood at 29.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Prafulla Majhi with 27.10% of vote share and independent candidate Goreti Xess with 1.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Talsara |Meradesh
Talsara Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Talsara | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 45689 votes and 41111 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 41272 votes in 2014 and 60264 votes in 2019 while BJD received 44251 votes in 2014 and 44076 votes in 2019. BJP managed to win 3 seats while BJD had to be content with 2 seats in the district of Sundargarh in 2019.  INC and CPI(M) both won 1 seat each. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –