Assembly Constituency Watch: Surada


Surada assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Surada NAC, Belaguntha NAC, Surada Block and Belaguntha Block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Surada | Machine Dalal
Surada Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 208841 and the turnout stood at 65.67%, in real numbers- 137148voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 224024 electors, 66.62% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, it was a reasonable jump-149247 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Surada | Machine Dalal
Surada Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Purna Chandra Swain gained a vote share of 51.30% and defeated BJP’s Nilamani Bisoyi whose vote share stood at 41.90%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sangram Keshari Mohanty with 4.90% of vote share and independent candidate Nirakara Nayak with 1.00% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Surada |Meradesh
Surada Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Surada | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 67546 votes and 76501 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 9270 votes in 2014 and 62505 votes in 2019 while INC received 51546 votes in 2014 and 7293 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 12 seats whereas 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –