Assembly Constituency Watch: Sundargarh


Sundargarh assembly constituency is located in Sundargarh district and consists of:  

Sundargarh, Sundargarh block, Tangarpali block, Hemgiri block and seven Gram panchayats of Lephripada block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Sundargarh | Machine Dalal
Sundargarh Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 220138 and the turnout stood at 71.93%, in real numbers- 158356 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 232006 electors, 74.30% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, it was a reasonable jump-172379 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Sundargarh | Machine Dalal
Sundargarh Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Kusum Tete gained a vote share of 48.20% and defeated BJD’s Jogesh Kumar Singh whose vote share stood at 44.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sima Biswal with 7.00% of vote share and HND’s Govinda Chandra Bhoi with 0.80% vote share.

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sundargarh |Meradesh
Sundargarh Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sundargarh | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 66138 votes and 12087 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 27935 votes in 2014 and 83118 votes in 2019 while BJD received 53554 votes in 2014 and 75754 votes in 2019. HND got 1420 votes in the 2019 elections. BJP dominated the district of Sundargarh in 2019 by winning 3 seats while BJD secured 2 seats. CPI (M) and INC both won 1 seat each. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –