Assembly Constituency Watch: Sanand


Sanand assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Sanand Taluka 

Bavla Taluka (Part) Villages – Vasna Nanodara, Nanodara, Kavla, Sankod, Vasna Dhedhal, Dhedhal, Rajoda, Adroda, Hasannagar, Chhabasar, Baldana, Metal, Devdholera, Devadthal, Durgi, Meni, Dumali, Kesrandi, Lagdana, Dahegamda, Ranesar, Amipura,Kochariya, Kerala, Kanotar, Shiyal, Sarala, Kaliveji, Mithapur, Bavla (M). 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Sanand | Machine Dalal
Sanand Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 207337 and the turnout stood at 74.22%, in real numbers- 153891 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 243471 electors, 75.86% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it translates to 184696 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Sanand | Machine Dalal
Sanand Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Kanubhai Karamshibhai Patel gained a vote share of 36.65% and defeated INC’s Dabhi Pushpaben Jorubhai whose vote share stood at 32.47%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Rathod Kamabhai Gagjibhai with 20.46vote share. 2.21% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sanand |Meradesh
Sanand Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Sanand | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, INC won the constituency and earned 73453 votes that decreased to 59971 votes in 2017 and a consequent loss of the seat. On the other hand, BJP garnered 69305 votes in 2012 and 67692 votes to win in 2017 elections. Overall, BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC scored 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –