Assembly Constituency Watch: Phulbani


Phulbani assembly constituency is located in Kandhamal district and consists of:  

Phulbani, Phulbani block, Chakapada block, Khajuripada block and Phiringia block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Phulbani | Machine Dalal
Phulbani Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 166391 and the turnout stood at 75.08%, in real numbers- 124922voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 188577 electors, 71.70% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-135212 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Phulbani | Machine Dalal
Phulbani Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Angada Kanhar gained a vote share of 48.50% and defeated BJP’s Debanarayan Pradhan whose vote share stood at 30.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Kishor Chandra Kanhar with 17.20% of vote share and independent candidate Premasila Jhankar with 1.00% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Phulbani |Meradesh
Phulbani Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Phulbani | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 58273 votes and 65564 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 32478 votes in 2014 and 41148 votes in 2019 while INC received 21510 votes in 2014 and 23317 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of Kandhamal in 2019 by winning all 3 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –