Assembly Constituency Watch: Patnagarh


Patnagarh assembly constituency is located in Balangir district and consists of:  

Patnagarh, Patnagarh block, Belpara block and Khaprakhol block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Patnagarh | Machine Dalal
Patnagarh Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 252663 and the turnout stood at 72.55%, in real numbers- 183295 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 280124 electors, 71.21% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-199480 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Patnagarh | Machine Dalal
Patnagarh Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Saroj Kumar Meher gained a vote share of 44.10% and defeated BJP’s Kanak Vardhan Singh Deo whose vote share stood at 38.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Ramesh Kumar Purohit with 15.20% of vote share and BSP’s Laba Suna with 2.10% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Patnagarh |Meradesh
Patnagarh Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Patnagarh | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 74372 votes and 77003 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 60719 votes in 2014 and 88031 votes in 2019 while INC received 33697 votes in 2014 and 30253 votes in 2019. BSP got 4193 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD and INC both managed to win 2 seats each in the district of Balangir in 2019 while 1 seat was scored by BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –