Assembly Constituency Watch: Padra


Padra assembly constituency is located in Vadodara district and consists of:  

Padra Taluka – Mujpur, Dabka, Chokari, Mahmadpura, Ekalbara 

Vadodara Taluka (Part) Villages – Sindhrot, Hinglot, Ampad, Mahapura, Sevasi, Khanpur 

Karjan Taluka (Part) Village – Umaj 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Padra | Machine Dalal
Padra Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 195756 and the turnout stood at 80.11%, in real numbers- 156826 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 215128 electors, 81.05% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it translates to 174367 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Padra Electoral Turnout Rates
Padra Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Thakor Jashpalsinh Mahendrasinh gained a vote share of 53.33% and defeated BJP’s Patel Dineshbhai Balubhai whose vote share stood at 42.42%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Solanki Kailasben Sureshbhai with 0.58% vote share. 1.82% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Padra |Meradesh
Padra Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Padra | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 75227 votes that decreased to 73971 votes and the party lost the seat in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 70919 votes in 2012 and increased its count to 92998 votes to win the seat in 2017. Overall, it’s the BJP who dominated the district of Vadodara in 2017 by winning 8 seats.  INC had to be content with 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –