Assembly Constituency Watch: Lanjigarh


Lanjigarh assembly constituency is located in Kalahandi district and consists of:  

Lanjigarh block, Thuamul Rampur block and 16 Gram panchayats (Anlabhata, Badakarlakot, Badpujhariaguda, Baner, Bhainripali, Dhansuli, Hirapur, Jaipatna, Kuchagaon, Mangalpur, Mukhiguda, Paikkendumundi, Pratappur, Rengalpalli, Sargiguda and Uchhula) of Jaipatna block and 8 GPs (Risigaon, Duarsuni, Sagada, Jugsaipatna, Chancher, Kuturukhamar, Malgaon and Tal Belgaon) of Bhawanipatna block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Lanjigarh | Machine Dalal
Lanjigarh Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 193961 and the turnout stood at 77.12%, in real numbers- 149591 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 215745 electors, 74.11% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-159883 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Lanjigarh | Machine Dalal
Lanjigarh Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Pradip Kumar Dishari gained a vote share of 39.00% and defeated INC’s Sibaji Majhi whose vote share stood at 30.10%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Ramesh Chandra Majhi with 24.90% of vote share and BSP’s Suresh Majhi with 2.00% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Lanjigarh |Meradesh
Lanjigarh Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Lanjigarh | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 65033 votes and 62413 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 40138 votes in 2014 and 48105 votes in 2019 while BJP received 26744 votes in 2014 and 39777 votes in 2019. BSP got 3255 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Kalahandi in 2019 by winning 4 seats while BJP secured 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –