Assembly Constituency Watch: Laxmipur


Laxmipur assembly constituency is located in Koraput district and consists of:  

Laxmipur block, Dasamanthapur block, Bandhugaob block and Narayanpatana block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Laxmipur | Machine Dalal
Laxmipur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 155107 and the turnout stood at 77.33%, in real numbers- 119939 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 173783 electors, 72.42% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-125852 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Laxmipur | Machine Dalal
Laxmipur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Prabhu Jani gained a vote share of 35.90% and defeated INC’s Kailash Chandra Kulesika whose vote share stood at 35.70%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Kumuda Chandra Saunta with 15.10% of vote share and BSP’s Anita Sagaria with 9.80% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Laxmipur |Meradesh
Laxmipur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Laxmipur | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 53429 votes and 44982 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 30956 votes in 2014 and 45211 votes in 2019 while BJP received 9527 votes in 2014 and 18945 votes in 2019. BSP got 5632 votes in 2014 and 12344 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Koraput in 2019 by winning 4 seats. The remaining 1 seat was won by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –