Assembly Constituency Watch: Khurda


Khurda assembly constituency is located in Khordha district and consists of:  

Khordha, Khurda block and 8 Gram panchayats (Palatotapada, Bajapur, Nijigarhtapanga, Kanpur, Dhaulimuhan, Brajamohanpur, Naranagarh, Godipada, Jankia, Golabaisasan, Orabarasingh, Kuradhamalla, Bangida and Kaipadar) of Khurda block. 


Designated as General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Khurda | Machine Dalal
Khurda Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 215367 and the turnout stood at 73.59%, in real numbers- 158478 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 242243 electors, 70.90 of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-171753 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Khurda | Machine Dalal
Khurda Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Jyotirindra Nath Mitra gained a vote share of 49.20% and defeated BJP’s Kalucharan Khandeitaray whose vote share stood at 43.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were independent candidate with 3.80% of vote share and INC’s Swagatika Pattanaik with 2.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Khurda |Meradesh
Khurda Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Khurda | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 72299 votes and 84553 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 65702 votes in 2014 and 74510 votes in 2019 while INC received 12202 votes in 2014 and 4268 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Khordha in 2019 by winning 7 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –