Assembly Constituency Watch: Khariar


Khariar assembly constituency is located in Nuapada district and consists of:  

Khariar NAC, Khariar block, Boden block and Sinapali block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Khariar | Machine Dalal
Khariar Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 219194 and the turnout stood at 76.27%, in real numbers- 167170 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 238495 electors, 73.62% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-175575 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Khariar | Machine Dalal
Khariar Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, INC’s Adhiraj Mohan Panigrahi gained a vote share of 33.80% and defeated BJD’s Lambodar Nial whose vote share stood at 32.20%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Ritarani Bagartti with 29.80% of vote share and BSP’ Purna Chandra Netam with 1.10% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Khariar |Meradesh
Khariar Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Khariar | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 57533 votes and 52245 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 50407 votes in 2014 and 59308 votes in 2019 while BJD receivd 47655 votes in 2014 and 56451 votes in 2019. BSP got 2038 votes in 2014 and 1894 votes in 2019. BJD and INC both managed to win 1 seat each in the district of Nuapada in 2019. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –