Assembly Constituency Watch: Kantamal


Kantamal assembly constituency is located in Baudh district and consists of:  

Kantamal block and 10 GPs (Raxa, Manupali, Gochhapada, Baunsuni, Bohira, Talasarada, Mundipadar, Sagada, Gundulia and Ainlapali) of Boudh block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Kantamal | Machine Dalal
Kantamal Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 143026  and the turnout stood at 80.71%, in real numbers- 115436 voters. 2019 witnessed a negligible decrease in turnout; out of the 163578 electors, 79.09% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-129374 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Kantamal | Machine Dalal
Kantamal Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Mahidhar Rana gained a vote share of 33.30% and defeated BJP’s Kanhai Charan Danga whose vote share stood at 30.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were independent candidate Sesha Kumar Meher with 21.90% of vote share and INC’s Prasanta Kumar Sahu with 10.20% vote share.   

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kantamal |Meradesh
Kantamal Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kantamal | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 49202 votes and 43099 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 23836 votes in 2014 and 13166 votes in 2019 while BJP received 9336 votes in 2014 and 39449 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Baudh in 2019 by winning both 2 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –