Assembly Constituency Watch: Kantabanji


 Kantanbanji assembly constituency is located in Balangir district and consists of:  

Kantabanji, Turekela block, Bangomunda block and Muribahal block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Kantabanji | Machine Dalal
Kantabanji Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 241578 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of 72.27%, in real numbers- 174582 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 279830 electors, 67.46% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-188781 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Kantabanji | Machine Dalal
Kantabanji Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election saw both INC’s Santosh Singh Saluja and BJP’s Laxman Bag gaining an equal vote share of 34% but INC’s candidate managed to claim victory by minor margin of 128 votes. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJD’s Ajaya Kumar Das with 28.90% of vote share and independent candidate Maya Bag with 1.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kantabanji |Meradesh
Kantabanji Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Kantabanji | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 55252 votes and 54527 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 51384 votes in 2014 and 64246 votes in 2019 while BJP received 30961 votes in 2014 and 64118 votes in 2019. Both BJD and INC won 2 seats each in the district of Balangir while 1 seat went to BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –