Assembly Constituency Watch: Karanjia


Karanjia assembly constituency is located in Myurbhanj district and consists of:  

Karanjia, Karanjia block, Thakurmunda block and 9 GPs (Padmapokhari, Ramachandrapur, Labnyadeipur, Dewanbahali, Ranipokhari, Sarat, Nota, Sardiha and Kalamgadia) of Kaptipada block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Karanjia | Machine Dalal
Karanjia Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 165582 and the turnout stood at 78.18%, in real numbers- 129444 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 186745 electors, 74.35% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-138839 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Karanjia | Machine Dalal
Karanjia Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Basanti Hembram gained a vote share of 43.30% and defeated BJP’s Padma Charan Haiburu whose vote share stood at 37.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Sudam Charan Naik with 7.80% of vote share and AITC’s Jabamani Tudu with 4.30% vote share.   

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Karanjia |Meradesh
Karanjia Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Karanjia | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 38609 votes and 60064 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 25058 votes in 2014 and 51301 votes in 2019 while INC received 19226 votes in 2014 and 10840 votes in 2019. AITC got 6013 votes in the 2019 elections. Overall, BJP dominated the district of Mayurbhanj in 2019 by winning 6 seats. BJD emerged winner in 3 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –