Assembly Constituency Watch: Jharigam


Jharigam assembly constituency is located in Nabarangpur district and consists of:  

Jharigam block, Chandahandi block and 10 Gram panchayats (Badabharandi, Badakumari, Bhamini, Benora, Singisari, Bhandariguda, Chikalpadar, Hirapur, Karagam and Rajpur) of Umerkote block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Jharigam | Machine Dalal
Jharigam Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 193577 and the turnout stood at 80.29%, in real numbers- 155415 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight decrease in turnout; out of the 212422 electors, 79.56% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-169007 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Jharigam | Machine Dalal
Jharigam Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Prakash Chandra Majhi gained a vote share of 46.10% and defeated INC’s Uldhar Majhi whose vote share stood at 27.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Parsuram Majhi with 23.50% of vote share and an independent candidate Sunita Banjara with 3.00% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jharigam |Meradesh
Jharigam Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jharigam | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 65254 votes and 77881 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 54058 votes in 2014 and 46511 votes in 2019 while BJP received 14010 votes in 2014 and 39631 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Nabarangapur in 2019 by winning 3 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to BJP.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –