Assembly Constituency Watch: Jharsuguda


Jharsuguda assembly constituency is located in Jharsuguda district and consists of:  

Jharsuguda, Kirmira block, Laikera block, Kolabira block and part of Jharsuguda block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Jharsuguda | Machine Dalal
Jharsuguda Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 200808 and the turnout stood at 82.27%, in real numbers- 165197 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 223179 electors, 78.30% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-174747 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Jharsuguda | Machine Dalal
Jharsuguda Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Naba Kisore Das gained a vote share of 56.40% and defeated BJP’s Dinesh Kumar Jain whose vote share stood at 30.30%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Mahendra Naik with 10.80% of vote share and BSP’s Kartikeswar Ghugar with 0.60% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jharsuguda |Meradesh
Jharsuguda Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jharsuguda | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 74499 votes and 18823 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 62936 votes in 2014 and 98620 votes in 2019 while BJP received 21047 votes in 2014 and 52921 votes in 2019. BSP got 992 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD completely dominated the district of Jharsuguda in 2019 by winning seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –