Assembly Constituency Watch: Jeypore


Jeypore assembly constituency is located in Koraput district and consists of:  

Jeypore, Jeypore block, 19 Gram panchayats (BB.Singpur, Benagam, Bodigam, Borigumma, Champapadar, Gujuniguda, Gumuda, Haridaguda, Hordali, Kamta, Katharagada, Kumuli, Munja, Narigam, Nuagam, Ranaspur, Sargiguda, Semolaguda and Benasur) of Borigumma block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Jeypore | Machine Dalal
Jeypore Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 187804 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout of 78.02%, in real numbers- 146518 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 211624 electors, 73.46% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-155465 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Jeypore | Machine Dalal
Jeypore Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, INC’s Taraprasad Bahinpati gained a vote share of 38.50% and defeated BJD’s Rabi Narayan Nanda whose vote share stood at 35.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Goutam Samantray with 21.70% of vote share and BSP’s Krishna Chandra Sagar with 1.90% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jeypore |Meradesh
Jeypore Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Jeypore | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 65378 votes and 59785 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 57011 votes in 2014 and 54334 votes in 2019 while BJP received 14462 votes in 2104 and 33805 votes in 2019. BSP got 2876 votes in 2019. Overall, BJD dominated the district of Koraput in 2019 by winning 4 seats. The remaining 1 seat was won by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –