Assembly Constituency Watch: Bari


Bari assembly constituency is located in Jajpur district and consists of:  

Bari block and 8 GPs (Badasuar, Chhatisdebil, Erabanka, Jhalapada, Sanasuar, Rudrapur, Sahaspur and Sujanpur) of Jajpur block and 10GPs (Atalpur, Samantarapur, Routrapur, Prathamakhandi, Rajendrapur, Arthanga, Mangarajpur, Brahmabarada, Bandhadiha and Maheswarpur) of Rasulpur block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bari | Machine Dalal
Bari Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 191167 and the turnout stood at 70.39%, in real numbers- 134561 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight decrease in turnout; out of the 215571 electors, 69.51% of voters chose to cast their vote. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-149841 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bari | Machine Dalal
Bari Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Sunanda Das gained a vote share of 48.40% and defeated BJP’s Biswaranjan Mallick whose vote share stood at 45.70%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Umesh Chandra Jena with 4.70% of vote share and BSP’s Rohit Kumar Mallick with 0.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bari |Meradesh
Bari Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bari |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 59800 votes and 72559 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 9183 votes in 2014 and 68497votes in 2019 while INC received 7682 votes in 2014 and 7082 votes in 2019. BSP got 676 votes in 2019. BJD completely dominated the district of in 2019 by winning all 7 seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –