Assembly Constituency Watch: Baripada


Baripada assembly constituency is located in Mayurbhanj district and consists of:  

Baripada, Baripada block, Khunta block and 9 GPs (Gudialbandh, Jadunathpur, Jarkani, Khanua, Naupal, Purnachandpur, Sankerko, Tangasol and Uthaninuagaon) of Badasahi block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Baripada | Machine Dalal
Baripada Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 191093 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of 75.56%, in real numbers- 144388 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 216145 electors, 73.05% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-157903 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Baripada | Machine Dalal
Baripada Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Prakash Soren gained a vote share of 45.70% and defeated BJD’s Sarojini Hembram whose vote share stood at 33.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Dasaratha Singh with 17.10% of vote share and BSP’s Sarojini Soren with 1.20% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Baripada |Meradesh
Baripada Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Baripada |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 54131 votes that decreased to 52814 votes in 2019 and party had to suffer defeat. On the other hand, BJP garnered 37017 votes in 2014 and 72225 votes to win in 2019 while INC received 21933 votes in 2014 and 26978 votes in 2019. BSP got 1945 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Mayurbhanj in 2019 by winning 6 seats. BJP came triumphant in 3 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –