BJP’s Uttarakhand Candidate List – What does it reveal?

With a massive win of 57 seats out of 70 in 2017 assembly election, BJP is all set for the upcoming 2022 elections. The political party has released its candidate list for the polls to the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly. 

BJP’s Candidate List for Uttarakhand

Let’s take a closer look: 

Gender Distribution 

Out of 70 candidates, there are 62 male candidates and 8 female candidates.  

3rd Runner Up 

A female candidate who lost by a margin of 4.30% was given the ticket and a second chance.  

1st Runner Up 

2 Male candidates who lost by a margin of 4.58% and 6.95% were also given the tickets for the upcoming assembly election. 

LOTA Candidates 

Overall there are 9 candidates who switched their allegiances to BJP. They include 4 INC candidates and 5 independent candidates.  

New Candidates 

For the upcoming election, BJP introduced 20 new candidates out of which 18 are male and 2 are female candidates.  

Sitting MLAs 

There are 38 candidates, 35 male and 3 female, who won the 2017 assembly elections with a margin range of 1.43% to 38.35%. CM Pushkar Singh Dhami, two-time MLA from Khatima assembly constituency, will be contesting from the same constituency in the upcoming election. 

We will be continuously evaluating the candidate list and sharing our insights. Stay tuned to checkout our data visualisations, explore electoral constituency data, take part in surveys, and engage in stimulating conversations. You can download the Meradesh app, available on both App store and Play Store 

Or check out the platform if you wish to employ data and location intelligence in campaign management.