AAP’s Punjab Candidate List – An Electoral Breakdown

AAP has announced all 117 candidates for the 2022 Punjab Assembly Elections. This is what we know so far:

                                                                               The Aam Aadmi Party’s candidate list for Punjab

1) Gender Breakdown 

Out of 117 seats, there are 13 female candidates and 104 male candidates in the list.  

2) Sitting MLAs

There are 12 candidates who won the 2017 elections and are currently sitting as MLAs. They won their seats with a margin range of 0.79% to 21.5 %. 

3) 1st & 2nd Runner-up Candidates 

8 candidates were first runner ups who lost by a margin of 1.21% to 24.23%. And, out of the 9 candidates from the 2nd Runner-up category, 8 are male and 1 female.  

4) LOTA Candidates

By definition, LOTA candidates are those who switched party allegiance. A total of 17 candidates from INC, SAD and other parties switched to AAP. 

AAP declared Bhagwant Mann as their candidate for the role of Chief Minister of Punjab. The MP from Sangrur Lok Sabha seat, will now contest polls from Dhuri constituency in Sangrur district. Similarly, Dr Balbir Singh has shifted from Patiala Urban to Patiala Rural for the upcoming election. 

AAP provided a substantial number of their tickets to new candidates, an interesting trend that separates them from other parties and perhaps provides them a competitive edge over the others. 

We will be continuously evaluating the candidate list and sharing our insights. Stay tuned to checkout our data visualisations, explore electoral constituency data, take part in surveys, and engage in stimulating conversations. You can also download our app, available on both Apple store and Play Store.