Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Patiala 


Patiala Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Punjab. It comprises 9 assembly constituencies and 2 districts.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

Patiala Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 15,80,273 and the turnout stood at 70.93%, in real numbers- 11,20,933 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 17,39,600 electors, 67.71% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 11,77,903 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, INC’s Preneet Kaur gained a vote share of 45.20% and defeated BJP’s Dr. Surjit Singh Rakhra whose vote share stood at 31.40%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were NPP’s Dharam Vira Gandhi with 13.70% of vote share and AAAP’s Dr. Neena Mittal with 4.80%.     

Voting History –2014 & 2019   

 Party Wise Shift in Votes  

 In 2014, AAAP won the constituency and earned 3,65,671 votes followed by 56,877 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, INC garnered 3,44,729 votes in 2014 and 5,32,027 votes in the 2019 elections. BJP received 3,40,109 votes in 2014 which substantially decreased to 3,69,309 votes in the 2019 elections. 

Parties at helm through the years  

The Indian National Congress (INC) demonstrated a remarkable winning streak with consecutive victories in 1952, 1957, 1962, 1967, and 1971. However, in 1977, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) emerged as the triumphant party, only to witness the INC’s resurgence in 1980. The year 1984 brought yet another victory for the SAD, while an independent candidate secured an unexpected win in 1989.  

Timeline of Winning Parties

The INC returned to power with a victory in 1991 while the SAD achieved another win in 1996, followed by yet another triumph in 1998. The INC further solidified its position with notable victories in 2004 and 2009. Amidst these political shifts, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) made a significant mark by gaining success in 2014, while the INC once again secured another decisive triumph in the 2019 elections. 

 Party-wise success rate  

   Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Patiala Lok Sabha seat, INC had exhibited the highest rate of success in the elections held since 2009, standing at 65% followed by SAD at 24% and AAAP at 6%. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

During the 2009 elections, there were 14 contestants, among which 13 were males and 1 female, in percentage- 93% and 7% respectively. The next elections in 2014 saw an increase in contestant participation to 20 whereby 17 were males and 3 females, in percentage- 85% and 15% respectively.  

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

In 2019, the total number of contestants saw a further increase, with 25 individuals participating that includes 23 males and 2 females, in percentage- 92% and 8% respectively. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 13,39,588 electors, 9,35,971 voters cast their ballots. Of the 7,01,352 male electors, 4,98,826 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 71%. There were 6,38,236 female electors and of that, 4,37,145 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 68%.  

In 2014, there are 15,80,273 people who are eligible to vote and 11,20,933 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 8,34,231 were male electors and 7,46,042 were female electors. 71% of male electors (5,93,646) and 71% of female electors (5,27,287) cast their ballots.  

  Gender Wise Voter Turnout 

The total count of electors in 2019 was 17,39,600 out of which 11,75,528 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 9,14,607 male electors, only 69% voted which is 6,32,621 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 66% which translates to 5,42,886 voters out of a total of 8,24,919 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 74 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 21 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 28%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the S.A.S Nagar and Patiala districts which are part of the Patiala parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Patiala District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Patiala district at 67%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 71% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 62%. 

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

S.A.S Nagar District 

The overall literacy rate of the district is 74%. However, when it comes to gender, the literacy rate for males in the district stands at 77% while the female literacy rate is 70%.     

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –