Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Hoshiarpur 


Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Punjab. It comprises 9 assembly constituencies and 3 districts.   


Designated as a Scheduled Caste Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

Hoshiarpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 14,85,286 and the turnout stood at 64.72%, in real numbers- 9,61,297 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 15,97,500 electors, 62.02% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 9,90,791 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, BJP’s Som Prakash gained a vote share of 42.50% and defeated INC’s Dr. Raj Kumar Chabbewal whose vote share stood at 37.60%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were BSP’s Kushi Ram with 13.00% of vote share and AAAP’s Dr. Ravjot Singh with 4.50%.     

Voting History –2014 & 2019   


 Party Wise Shift in Votes  

In 2014, AAAP won the constituency and earned 3,46,643 votes followed by 4,21,320 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, INC garnered 3,3,33,061 votes in 2014 and 3,72,790 votes in the 2019 elections. BSP received 40,497 votes in 2014 which substantially decreased to 1,28,564 votes in the 2019 elections. 

Parties at helm through the years  

 In 1952, the Indian National Congress (INC) secured victory and continued to dominate elections in 1957, 1962, 1971, and 1980. However, in 1967, the Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS) managed to secure a victory, marking a notable change. The Janata Party (JP) won the elections in 1977, leading to a brief shift in power. Nonetheless, the INC regained prominence in 1984 and maintained its winning streak in 1989 and 1991.  

Timeline of Winning Parties

In 1996, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) emerged victorious, bringing a new dynamic to the political landscape. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) tasted victory for the first time in 1998 and again in 1999. The INC reclaimed power in 2004, but the BJP returned to power in 2014, followed by another victory in 2019.  

 Party-wise success rate  

  Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha seat, INC had exhibited the highest rate of success in the elections held since 2009, standing at 59% followed by BJP at 24% and BSP at 6%. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

During the 2009 elections, there were 12 contestants, among which 10 were males and 2 females, in percentage- 83% and 17% respectively. The next elections in 2014 saw an increase in contestant participation to 16 whereby 15 were males and 1 female, in percentage- 94% and 6% respectively.  

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

In 2019, the total number of contestants saw a significant decrease, with only 8 individuals participating, and notably, all of them were male candidates.  

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 12,90,197 electors, 8,43,126 voters cast their ballots. Of the 6,49,298 male electors, 4,11,963 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 63%. There were 6,40,899 female electors and of that, 4,31,163 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 67%.  

In 2014, there are 14,85,286 people who are eligible to vote and 9,61,297 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 7,62,065 were male electors and 7,23,221 were female electors. 62% of male electors (4,73,343) and 67% of female electors (4,87,954) cast their ballots.  


 Gender Wise Voter Turnout 

The total count of electors in 2019 was 15,97,500 out of which 9,81,842 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 8,32,025 male electors, only 58% voted which is 4,85,078 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 65% which translates to 4,96,757 voters out of a total of 7,65,445 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 30 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 7 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 23%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Kapurthala, Gurdaspur and Hoshiarpur districts which are part of the Hoshiarpur parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Hoshiarpur District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Hoshiarpur district at 76%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 79% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 72%. 

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Kapurthala District 

The overall literacy rate of the district is 71%. However, when it comes to gender, the literacy rate for males in the district stands at 74% while the female literacy rate is 67%.     

Gurdaspur District 

 The district boasts an overall literacy rate of 69% with healthy representation by both males and females at 73% and 65% respectively. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –