Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Gonda 

Location : Gonda Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 5 assembly constituencies and 2 districts.   

Category : Designated as a General Constituency.  

Voter Turnout   

Gonda Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 17,10,825 and the turnout stood at 51.07%, in real numbers- 8,73,728 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 17,70,248 electors, 52.19% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 9,23,816 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, BJP’s Kirti Vardhan Singh gained a vote share of 55.00% and defeated SP’s Vinod Kumar whose vote share stood at 37.00%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were INC’s Smt. Krishna Patel with a vote share of 2.80% and PSPL’s Qutubuddin Khan with 0.70% of vote share.  

Voting History –2014 & 2019   

Party Wise Shift in Votes 

 In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 3,59,639 votes followed by 5,08,190 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, SP garnered 1,99,227 votes in 2014 and 3,41,830 votes in the 2019 elections.    

Parties at helm through the years : The Gonda constituency has been represented by a number of different parties over the years.  

The Indian National Congress (INC) secured victories in 1952, 1957, 1967, 1971, 1980, 1984, and 1989, showcasing its enduring influence in the constituency. In between, in 1964*, a brief divergence occurred with the Swatantra Party (SWA) and the year of 1977 saw the Janata Party (JP) rise to power. 

  Timeline of Winning Parties

The 1990s marked the ascent of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1991, and its dominance continued in 1996, and 1999 as well. A shift occurred in 2004 when the Samajwadi Party (SP) managed to win the seat. The Indian National Congress (INC) made a comeback in 2009, followed by the emergence of the BJP’s dominance in 2014 and 2019. 

 Party-wise success rate  

 Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Gonda Lok Sabha seat, INC had exhibited the highest rate of success over the years, standing at 50%. Among other prominent parties, BJP and SP enjoyed a success rate of 28% and 11% respectively. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants : During the 2009 elections, there were 25 contestants and 24 of them were male and 1 female, in percentage- 94% and & 6%. In 2014, the total number of contestants decreased to 15, out of which 14 were male and 1 was female, in percentage- 93% and 7%.   

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

In 2019, on the other hand, the total number of contestants was 15 whereby 14 were males and 1 female, in percentage that is 93% and 7% respectively. 

Gender wise voter turnout : In 2009, out of a total of 13,41,144 electors, 6,06,057 voters cast their ballots. Of the 7,28,755 male electors, 3,53,914 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 49%. There were 5,68,898 female electors and of that, 2,17,743 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 41%.  

In 2014, there are 17,10,827 people who are eligible to vote and 8,73,732 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 9,35,168 were male electors and 7,75,659 were female electors. 52% of male electors (4,88,241) and 50% of female electors (3,85,491) cast their ballots.  

   Gender Wise Voter Turnout  

The total count of electors in 2019 was 17,70,248 out of which 9,22,184 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 9,62,513 male electors, only 51% voted which is 4,90,088 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 53% which translates to 4,32,094 voters out of a total of 8,07,663 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 72 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 2 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 3%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate : We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Gonda and Balrampur districts which are part of the Gonda parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Gonda District : The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Gonda district at 49%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 58% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 39%. 

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Balrampur District : The overall literacy rate of the district is 40%. However, when it comes to gender, the literacy rate for males in the district stands at 49% while the female literacy rate is 31%.      

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –