Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Firozabad 


Firozabad Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 5 assembly constituencies and a district.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

 Firozabad Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 16,36,738 and the turnout stood at 67.49%, in real numbers- 11,04,606 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 17,90,510 electors, 60.09% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 10,75,866 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, BJP’s Dr. Chandra Sen Jadon gained a vote share of 46.10% and defeated SP’s Akshay Yadav whose vote share stood at 43.40%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were PSPL’s Shivpal Singh Yadav with 8.50% of vote share and BKPP’s Upendra Singh Rajput with 0.90%.     

Voting History –2014 & 2019   


Party Wise Shift in Votes  

In 2014, SP won the constituency and earned 5,34,583 votes followed by 4,67,038 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, BJP garnered 4,20,524 votes in 2014 and 4,95,819 votes in the 2019 elections.  

Parties at helm through the years  

In 1957, independent candidates (IND) managed to claim victory in the constituency. The Samyukta Socialist Party (SSP) emerged to win in 1967, followed by the Indian National Congress (INC) securing victory in 1971. The Janata Party (JP) marked a significant departure in 1977. The year 1980 saw independent candidates once again making their presence felt.  

  Timeline of Winning Parties

The INC returned to power in 1984, but 1989 witnessed the rise of the Janata Dal (JD). The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took the lead in 1991, 1996, and 1998. The Samajwadi Party (SP) and its influence took center stage in 1999, 2004, 2009, and 2014, with a brief interlude of INC’s victory in a 2009 by-election. The political panorama continued to shift, culminating in the BJP’s victory in 2019. 

 Party-wise success rate  

     Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Firozabad Lok Sabha seat, both BJP and SP had exhibited the highest rate of success in the elections held since 1977, standing at 25% each. Among other prominent parties, INC and JD managed a success rate of 25% and 6% respectively. 

Gender-Wise Distribution of Contestants 

During the 2009 elections, there were 16 contestants and among them, 14 were males while 2 were females, in percentage- 88% and 12% respectively. In 2014, the total number of contestants decreased to 15 out of which 14 were male and 1 female, in percentage- 93% and 7%.   

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

In 2019, on the other hand, the total number of contestants further decreased to mere 6 with all the participants being males. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 14,19,781 electors, 6,84,887 voters cast their ballots. Of the 7,80,865 male electors, 4,19,821 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 54%. There were 6,38,916 female electors and of that, 2,65,066 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 41%.  

In 2014, there are 16,36,738 people who are eligible to vote and 11,04,606 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 9,02,514 were male electors and 7,34,224 were female electors. 71% of male electors (6,43,433) and 63% of female electors (4,61,173) cast their ballots.  

   Gender Wise Voter Turnout  

The total count of electors in 2019 was 17,90,510 out of which 10,72,480 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 9,64,395 male electors, only 61% voted which is 5,92,593 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 58% which translates to 4,79,885 voters out of a total of 8,26,024 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 91 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 2 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 2%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Firozabad district which is a part of the Firozabad parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Firozabad District 

The Ghaziabad district’s overall literacy rate is 61%. In terms of gender, the literacy rate for male stands at 68% whereas it is 52% for females. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –