Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Ferozpur 


Ferozpur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 13 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Punjab. It comprises 9 assembly constituencies and 3 districts.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

Ferozpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 15,22,111 and the turnout stood at 72.62%, in real numbers- 11,05,412 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 16,18,419 electors, 72.42% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 11,72,033 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, SAD’s Sukhbir Singh Badal gained a vote share of 54.00% and defeated INC’s Sher Singh Ghubaya whose vote share stood at 37.10%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were AAAP’s Harjinder Singh Kaka with 2.70% of vote share and CPI’s Hans Raj Golden with 2.20%.     

Voting History –2014 & 2019   

Party Wise Shift in Votes

 In 2014, SAD won the constituency and earned 4,87,932 votes followed by 6,33,427 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, INC garnered 4,56,512 votes in 2014 and 4,34,577 votes in the 2019 elections.  

Parties at helm through the years  

In 1952, the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) emerged victorious, marking the beginning of its political presence in the state. The Indian National Congress (INC) gained prominence in 1957 and continued its success in the following election of 1962 as well. In 1967, the SAD once again secured a victory before a win in the by-election in 1969 further consolidated its position. The party maintained its momentum with successes in 1971 and 1977. 

Timeline of Winning Parties 

In 1980, the INC reclaimed power, which was continued in the 1984 elections as well. The political landscape witnessed diversity as the year 1989 saw an independent candidate triumph and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) gained prominence in 1992 and continued its success in 1996. The SAD stitched a resurgence in 1998 and managed to replicate this triumph in subsequent years – 1999, 2004, 2009, 2014, and 2019, showcasing its sustained dominance in the constituency over the years. 

 Party-wise success rate  

Success Rate

 In terms of the success rate in securing the Ferozpur Lok Sabha seat, SAD had exhibited the highest rate of success in the elections held since 1977, standing at 61% followed by INC at 22% and BSP at 11%. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

During the 2009 elections, there were 16 contestants and all of them were male.  In the subsequent elections held in 2014 and 2019, the number of contestants was 15 and 22 respectively with all of them being male like the prior election. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 13,40,341 electors, 9,56,680 voters cast their ballots. Of the 6,98,926 male electors, 5,10,434 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 73%. There were 6,41,415 female electors and of that, 4,46,246 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 70%.  

In 2014, there are 15,22,111 people who are eligible to vote and 11,05,412 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 8,08,857 were male electors and 7,13,254 were female electors. 73% of male electors (5,90,511) and 72% of female electors (5,14,901) cast their ballots.  

   Gender Wise Voter Turnout

The total count of electors in 2019 was 16,18,419 out of which 11,66,717 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 8,62,955 male electors, only 73% voted which is 6,25,836 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 72% which translates to 5,40,872 voters out of a total of 7,55,429 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 35 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 9 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 26%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Muktsar, Firozpur and Fazilka districts which are part of the Ferozpur parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Fazilka District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Ferozpur district at 63%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 66% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 56%. 

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Muktsar District 

The overall literacy rate of the district is 58%. However, when it comes to gender, the literacy rate for males in the district stands at 63% while the female literacy rate is 53%.     

Firozpur District 

The Ghaziabad district’s overall literacy rate is 62%. In terms of gender, the literacy rate for male stands at 66% whereas it is 57% for females. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –