Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Faizabad 


Faizabad Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 5 assembly constituencies and 2 districts.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout   

Firozabad Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 17,38,701 and the turnout stood at 58.82%, in real numbers- 10,22,716 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 18,21,785 electors, 59.67% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 10,87,121 voters.   

Representation and Results    

Party Wise Vote Share

2019’s parliamentary election winner, BJP’s Lallu Singh gained a vote share of 48.70% and defeated SP’s Anand Sen whose vote share stood at 42.60%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were INC’s Nirmal Khatri with vote share of 4.90% and independent candidate Rajbahadur Urf Rajan with 0.70% of vote share.  

Voting History –2014 & 2019   


Party Wise Shift in Votes

 In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 4,91,761 votes followed by 5,29,021 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, SP garnered 2,08,986 votes in 2014 and 4,63,544 votes in the 2019 elections.    


Parties at helm through the years  

 The Faizabad constituency has been represented by a number of different parties over the years.  

Timeline of Winning Parties

The Indian National Congress (INC) emerged as a dominant force, securing victories in 1957, 1962, 1967, and 1971. However, the political landscape witnessed a significant shift in 1977 when the Janata Party (JP) took the helm. The 1980s marked a return of the INC’s influence, prevailing in 1980 and 1984.  

Subsequently, the political landscape of the constituency showcased a diverse array of parties coming to power, including the Communist Party of India (CPI) in 1989, followed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1991, 1996. The Samajwadi Party (SP) made its mark in 1998 before BJP regained powere in 1999. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) assumed power in 2004 while INC managed to stage a comeback in 2009. The BJP claimed victory in 2014 and followed it up with another win in 2019, cementing its position as a major political force. 

 Party-wise success rate  

Success Rate

In terms of the success rate in securing the Faizabad Lok Sabha seat, INC and BJP had exhibited the highest rate of success over the years, standing at 44% and 31% respectively. Among other prominent parties, BSP and CPI enjoyed a success rate of 6% each. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

During the 2009 elections, there were 23 contestants and 22 of them were male and 1 female, in percentage- 96% and & 4%. In 2014, the total number of contestants decreased to 11, out of which 9 were male and 2 were females, in percentage- 82% and 18%.   

Gender Wise Distribution of Candidates

In 2019, on the other hand, the total number of contestants were increased to 13 whereby 11 were males and 2 females, in percentage that is 85% and 15% respectively. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 14,98,820 electors, 7,49,070 voters cast their ballots. Of the 8,02,529 male electors, 4,22,892 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 53%. There were 6,96,291 female electors and of that, 3,26,178 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 47%.  

In 2014, there are 17,38,701 people who are eligible to vote and 10,22,716 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 9,36,036 were male electors and 8,02,665 were female electors. 60% of male electors (5,58,096) and 58% of female electors (4,64,620) cast their ballots.  

   Gender Wise Voter Turnout

The total count of electors in 2019 was 18,21,785 out of which 10,85,766 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 9,73,904 male electors, only 59% voted which is 5,71,394 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 61% which translates to 5,14,394 voters out of a total of 8,47,824 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 57 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 20 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 35%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Barabanki and Ayodhya districts which are part of the Faizabad parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Barabanki District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Barabanki district at 52%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 59% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 44%. 

Gender Wise Literacy Rate

Ayodhya District 

The overall literacy rate of the district is 59%. However, when it comes to gender, the literacy rate for males in the district stands at 67% while the female literacy rate is 51%.      

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –