Parliamentary Constituency Watch: Dhaurahra 


Dhaurahra Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 5 assembly constituencies and 2 districts.   


Designated as a General Constituency.    

Voter Turnout  


During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 15,58,039 and the turnout stood at 68.05%, in real numbers- 10,60,271 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 16,04,211 electors, 66.32% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers- 10,63,840 voters.   

Representation and Results    

2019’s parliamentary election winner, BJP’s Rekha Verma gained a vote share of 48.20% and defeated BSP’s Arshad Illias Siddique whose vote share stood at 33.10%. The other prominent candidates in the fray were INC’s Kunwar Jitin Prasada with 15.30% of vote share and BAWPA’s Anil Kumar with 0.90%. 


Voting History –2014 & 2019   

 In 2014, BJP won the constituency and earned 3,60,357 votes followed by 5,12,905 votes in the 2019 election victory. On the other hand, BSP garnered 2,34,032 votes in 2014 and 3,52,294 votes in the 2019 elections. INC got 1,70,994 votes in 2014 and 1,62,856 votes in the 2019 elections. 

Parties at helm through the years  

This constituency, spread over Lakhimpur Kheri and Sitapur districts came into existence in 2008 as a part of the implementation of delimitation of parliamentary constituencies based on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission of India constituted in 2002. 

 In 2009, the Indian National Congress (INC) held the reins of government. In 2014, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) emerged victorious and assumed power. The BJP continued its hold on power in the subsequent general elections of 2019. 

 Party-wise success rate  

In terms of the success rate in securing the Dhaurahra Lok Sabha seat, both BJP had exhibited the highest rate of success over the years, standing at 67% followed by INC at 33%. 

Gender Wise Distribution of Contestants 

During the 2009 elections, there were 12 contestants and 11 of them were male and 1 was female, in percentage- 92% and & 8%. In 2014, the total number of contestants increased to 15, out of which 12 were male and 3 were female, in percentage- 80% and 20%.   

In 2019, on the other hand, the total number of contestants further decreased to 8 whereby 5 were males and 3 females, in percentage that is 67.5% and 32.5% respectively. 

Gender wise voter turnout 

In 2009, out of a total of 12,69,312 electors, 7,59,54 voters cast their ballots. Of the 6,89,344 male electors, 4,59,732 participated in the election, constituting a turnout rate of 67%. There were 5,79,968 female electors and of that, 2,99,862 chose to vote with a turnout rate of 52%.  

In 2014, there are 15,58,039 people who are eligible to vote and 10,60,271 of them chose to exercise their right to vote. Out of these, 8,46,798 were male electors and 5,79,968 were female electors. 71% of male electors (6,05,309) and 64% of female electors (4,54,962) cast their ballots.   

 The total count of electors in 2019 was 16,44,674 out of which 10,63,178 chose to cast their ballot in the parliamentary elections. Out of 8,84,646 male electors, only 68% voted which is 5,98,573 male voters in real numbers. On the other hand, the voter turnout for females stood at 61% which translates to 4,64,597 voters out of a total of 7,59,933 female electors in real number.     

In 2017, transgender people were included as a separate category of the third gender in electoral rolls. There were 95 electors belonging to the third gender category in the parliamentary constituency during the 2019 elections. And 8 of them exercised their newly granted constitutional right to vote and thus their turnout stood at 8%. 

Gender-Wise Literacy Rate 

We are taking a peek at the gender-wise literacy rate of the Dhaurahra and Chitrakoot districts which are part of the Dhaurahra parliamentary constituency as literacy is considered an essential indicator of the socioeconomic development of the region.  

Kheri District 

The 2011 census of India has pegged the overall literacy rate of the Kheri district at 51%. Gender-wise, the male literacy rate in the district is 52% whereas, for females, the literacy rate stands at 48%. 

Sitapur District 

The overall literacy rate of the district is 51%. However, when it comes to gender, the literacy rate for males in the district stands at 59% while the female literacy rate is 42%.    


Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.    

Data Source –