Parliamentary Constituency Watch – Badaun

Badaun is one of the 80 Lok Sabha constituencies in Uttar Pradesh. It comprises 5 assembly constituencies and 2 districts. 

The Badaun Lok Sabha seat has witnessed several winning candidates and parties since its inception.  

The Indian National Congress dominated the early years with Badan Singh winning in 1952 and Raghubir Rai in 1957. The next two elections in 1962 and 1967 saw Onkar Singh of Bhartiya Jan Sangh winning them both. Karan Singh Yadav from INC won in 1971 followed by Onkar Singh of the Janata Party who managed to secure a win in 1977. The Indian National Congress regained their position in 1980 with Mohammad Asrar Ahmad winning the election. Saleem Iqbal Shervani of the Congress party won in 1984, while Sharad Yadav of the Janata Dal won in 1989. 


Swami Chinmayanand of the Bharatiya Janata Party claimed victory in 1991, and Saleem Iqbal Shervani won again in 1996, this time as a member of the Samajwadi Party. He managed to win all the elections thereafter till 2009 when a change in representation in Samajwadi Party saw Dharmendra Yadav winning elections that year and followed it with another win in 2014. Sanghmitra Maurya of the Bharatiya Janata Party won in 2019. 

Success Rate


When it comes to success rate in the Badaun Lok Sabha seat, SP had the highest rate at 35%, followed by INC at 29%. Among other prominent parties, BJP managed a 12% success rate. 

Indian National Congress and Samajwadi Party have both had their share of success in the Badaun constituency. However, Bhartiya Janata Party has emerged as a strong contender in the constituency with winning the last held elections in 2019. 

Stay updated on the electoral statistics for parliamentary constituencies and the changing dynamics on Meradesh App. Available on Appstore and Play Store.    

Reach your constituents, gain insights into their motivations, and build campaigns based on data-driven strategies with the Meradesh Platform.