Assembly Constituency Watch: Vaghodiya


Vaghodiya assembly constituency is located in Vadodara district and consists of:  

Vaghodia Taluka 

Vadodara Taluka (Part) Villages – Sokhda, Padmala, Anagadh, Ajod, Asoj, Virod, Sisva, Dasharath, Dhanora, Kotna, Koyli, Dumad, Dena, Sukhlipur, Amaliyara, Kotali, Vemali, Gorva, Ankodiya, Sherkhi, Nandesari (CT), Nandesari (INA), Ranoli (CT), Petro-Chemical Complex (INA), Karachiya (CT), GSFC Complex (INA), Bajwa (CT), Jawaharnagar (Gujarat Refinery) (CT). 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Vaghodiya| Machine Dalal
Vaghodiya Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 200342 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout that stood at 77.25%, in real numbers- 154760 voters. 2017 witnessed a slight turnout decrease; out of the 222082 electors, 77.08% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-171186 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Vaghodiya | Machine Dalal
Vaghodiya Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Shrivastav Madhubhai Babubhai gained a vote share of 36.75% and defeated independent candidate Vaghela Dharmendrasinh Ranubha whose vote share stood at 30.75%. The remaining candidates in the fray were another independent candidate Makvana Satishbhai Chandubhai with 19.20% vote share and BTP’s Dr. Prafulbhai Devjibhai Vasava with 5.71% of vote share.  

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Vaghodiya |Meradesh
Vaghodiya Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Vaghodiya | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 65851 votes and 62913 votes in 2017. On the other hand, BTP garnered 9783 votes in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Vadodara in 2017 by winning seats. INC managed to secure the remaining 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –