Assembly Constituency Watch: Unjha


Unjha assembly constituency is located in Mahesana district and consists of:  

Unjha Taluka 

Vadnagar Taluka (Part) Villages – Jaska, Sundhiya, Hajipur, Shekhpur (Khe), Badarpur, Molipur, Sulipur, Kesimpa, Jagapura, Bajpura, Babipura, Khatoda, Kamalpur, Malekpur, Chandpur, Shekhpur (Vad), Kahipur, Chhabaliya, Transvad, Vadnagar (M). 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Unjha | Machine Dalal
Unjha Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 193641 and the constituency recorded 70.17% polling that year,turnout, in real numbers- 135887 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 213263 electors, 72.39% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-154375 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Unjha | Machine Dalal
Unjha Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, INC’s Dr. Asha Patel gained a vote share of 52.99% and defeated BJP’s Patel Narayanbhai Lalludas whose vote share stood at 40.34%. The remaining candidate in the fray was independent candidate Thakor Sahdevji Virsangji with 1.12% vote share. 1.89% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Unjha |Meradesh
Unjha Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Eleaction 2017 Winning Parties | Unjha | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 75708 votes that decreased to 62268 votes in 2017 and resulted in a defeat for the party. On the other hand, INC garnered 51507 votes in 2012 and the party significantly increased its share to 81797 votes to win in 2017. BJP dominated the district of Mahesana in 2017 by winning 5 seats. INC had to settle for 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –