Assembly Constituency Watch: Sonepur


Sonepur assembly constituency is located in Sonapur district and consists of:  

Sonepur, Tarbha, Sonepur block, Tarbha block, Dunguripali block and two GPs (Julunda and Mahada) of Binika block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Sonepur | Machine Dalal
Sonepur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 231856 and the turnout stood at 78.02%, in real numbers- 180900 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 250366 electors, 80.48% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, it was a reasonable jump-201506 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Sonepur | Machine Dalal
Sonepur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Niranjan Pujari gained a vote share of 49.20% and defeated BJP’s Ashok Kumar Pujari whose vote share stood at 36.40%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Chittaranjan Mishra with 11.60% of vote share and BSP’s Surubabu Nanda with 1.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sonepur |Meradesh
Sonepur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Sonepur | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 93534 votes and 99073 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 42049 votes in 2014 and 73347 votes in 2019 while INC received 35795 votes in 2014 and 23326 votes in 2019. BSP got 2408 votes in 2014 and 2577 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Sonapur in 2019 by winning both seats.   

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –