Assembly Constituency Watch: Soro


Soro assembly constituency is located in Baleshwar district and consists of:  

Soro, Soro block and 16 GPs (Anji, Aruhabad, Avana, Bahanaga, Baripada, Bishnupur, Chittol, Dandaharipur, Gopalpur, Kalyani, Kharsahapur, Kochiakoili, Kuruda, Sahaspura, Saud and Talakurunia) of Bahanaga block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnaout | Soro | Machine Dalal
Soro Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 193422 and the turnout stood at 70.64%, in real numbers- 136628 voters. 2019 witnessed a negligible turnout decrease; out of the 217499 electors, 70.28% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers, though it was a reasonable jump-152852 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnout |Soro | Machine Dalal
Soro Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Parshu Ram Dhada gained a vote share of 35.80% and defeated BJP’s Rakesh Kumar Malik whose vote share stood at 32.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Surendra Prasad Pramanik with 30.80% of vote share and BSP’s Madhabananda Malik with 0.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Soro |Meradesh
Soro Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Soro | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 57319 votes and 54775 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 53408 votes in 2014 and 47036 votes in 2019 while BJP received 23217 votes in 2014 and 49839 votes in 2019. BSP got 516 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Baleshwar in 2019 by winning 6 seats whereas BJP secured 2 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –