Assembly Constituency Watch: Naroda


Naroda assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) – Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 23, 24, 27, Ahmedabad Cantonment (CB). 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Naroda | Machine Dalal
Naroda Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 222136 and the constituency recorded 65.50% polling, in real numbers- 145491 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 264314 electors, 62.97% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-166441 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Naroda Electoral Turnout Rates
Naroda Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Thawani Balram Khubchand gained a vote share of 64.99% and defeated INC’s Tiwari Omprakash Darogaprasad whose vote share stood at 28.85%. The remaining candidate in the fray was AINHCP’s  Amitbhai Mohanbhai Patel with 1.19% vote share. 1.71% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Naroda |Meradesh
Naroda Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Naroda | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 96333 votes that increased to 108168 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 37981 votes in 2012 and 48026 votes in 2017. AINHCP got 1976 votes in 2017 elections. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC had to settle with 6 seats.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –