Assembly Constituency Watch: Naranpura


 Naranpura assembly constituency is located in Ahmedabad district and consists of:  

Ahmedabad City Taluka (Part) – Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (Part) Ward No. – 11, 12, 13, 14. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Naranpura | Machine Dalal
Naranpura Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2012 elections, the total number of electors was 213865 and the turnout stood at 70.28%, in real numbers- 150295 voters. 2017 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 229840 electors, 66.88% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-153718 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Naranpura Electoral Turnout Rates
Naranpura Electoral Turnout Rates

2017’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Kaushikbhai Jamnadas Patel gained a vote share of 69.26% and defeated INC’s Nitinbhai Kantibhai Patel whose vote share stood at 26.18%. The remaining candidate in the fray was BSP‘s Vaghela Ravi Khengarbhai with 0.84% vote share. 1.87% of votes were under NOTA.   

Voting History -2012 & 2017 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Naranpura |Meradesh
Naranpura Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Assembly Election 2017 Winning Parties | Naranpura | Machine Dalal
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2012, BJP won the constituency and earned 103988 votes that increased to 106458 votes in 2017. On the other hand, INC garnered 40653 votes in 2012 and 40243 votes in 2017. BSP got 1360 votes in 2012 and 1284 votes in 2017 elections. BJP dominated the district of Ahmedabad in 2017 by winning 15 seats. INC scored 6 seats. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –