Assembly Constituency Watch: Keonjahr


Keonjhar assembly constituency is located in Keonjhar district and consists of:  

Keonjhar, 12 GPs (Arsala, Balibandha, Jhumpura, Khendra, Kutugaon, Nahabeda, Naradapur, Nischintapur, Basantapur, Gumura, Malada and Nayagarh) of Jhumpura block and 5 GPs (Kodipasa, Suakati, Talachampei, Talakainsari and Kumundi) of Banspal block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Tribes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Keonjahr | Machine Dalal
Keonjahr Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 201668 and the turnout stood at 77.35%, in real numbers- 155987 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 226473 electors, 75.36% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-170659 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Keonjahr | Machine Dalal
Keonjahr Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJP’s Mohan Charan Majhi gained a vote share of 42.60% and defeated BJP’s Madhaba Sardar whose vote share stood at 42.00%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Bidyadhar Dehury with 8.50% of vote share and independent candidate Ganesh Chandra Munda with 2.30% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Keonjahr |Meradesh
Keonjahr Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Keonjahr | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 55959 votes and 71636 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 47283 votes in 2014 and 72760 votes to win in 2019. INC received 17531 votes in 2014 and 14553 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Keonjhar in 2019 by winning 5 seats while the remaining 1 seat went to BJP.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –