Assembly Constituency Watch: Khalikote


Khalikote assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Khallikote, Purusottampur, Khallikote block and 10 Gram panchayats (Achuli, Handighar, K.N Pur, Pratappur, Ranajhali, Raipur, Solaghara, Jagannathpur, Baghala, Bhatakumarada, Sunathara, Badabaragam, Bhimpur, Gangadehuni and Jamuni) of Purusottampur block. 


Designated as a Scheduled Castes Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Khalikote | Machine Dalal
Khalikote Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 197512 and the turnout stood at 63.66%, in real numbers- 125745 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 217873 electors, 64.86% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-141317 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Khalikote | Machine Dalal
Khalikote Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Suryamani Baidya gained a vote share of 60.90% and defeated BJP’s Bharati Behera whose vote share stood at 31.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Bhokali Sethi with 4.50% of vote share and HND’s Mina Kumari Tahal with 1.20% vote share.    

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Khalikote |Meradesh
Khalikote Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Khalikote | Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 78845 votes and 86105 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 21651 votes in 2014 and 6301 votes in 2019 while BJP received 15382 votes in 2014 and 44560 votes in 2019. HND got 1689 votes in the 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 12 seats. The remaining 1 seat was secured by INC.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –