Assembly Constituency Watch: Gopalpur


Gopalpur assembly constituency is located in Ganjam district and consists of:  

Gopalpur, Ward Nos. 25 to 27 of Brahmapur, Rangailunda block and 4 Gram panchayats (Hugulapatta, Gurunthi, Barigan and Nimakhandi) of Kukudakhandi block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Gopalpur | Machine Dalal
Gopalpur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 177868 and the constituency recorded 66.14% of polling, in real numbers- 117643 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 214399 electors, 62.31% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-133595 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Gopalpur | Machine Dalal
Gopalpur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s D. Pradeep Kumar Panigrahy gained a vote share of 46.10% and defeated BJP’s Bibhuti Bhusan Jena whose vote share stood at 44.10%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s S Dharmaraj Reddy with 7.50% of vote share and an independent candidate Biswa Bihari Bishoyl with 0.70% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Gopalpur |Meradesh
Gopalpur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Gopalpur | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Gopalpur | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 55265 votes and 61628 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 35153 votes in 2014 and 58955 votes in 2019 while INC received 21741 votes in 2014 and 10053 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Ganjam in 2019 by winning 12 seats. The remaining 1 seat went to INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –