Assembly Constituency Watch: Ghasipura


Ghasipura assembly constituency is located in Kendujhar district and consists of:  

Ghatgaon, Ghatagaon block, Ghasipura block and 2 GPs (Dhakotha and Kolimati) of Anandapur block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Ghasipura | Machine Dalal
Ghasipura Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 197618 and the turnout stood at 83.46%, in real numbers- 164931 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 220417 electors, 78.09% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-172131 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Ghasipura | Machine Dalal
Ghasipura Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Badri Narayan Patra gained a vote share of 50.40% and defeated INc’s Niranjan Patnaik whose vote share stood at 31.50%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Prithviraj Kuanr with 16.00% of vote share and an independent candidate Sukumar Puhan with 0.80% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Ghasipura |Meradesh
Ghasipura Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Ghasipura | Meradesh
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Ghasipura | Meradesh

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 108900 votes and 86816 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 20298 votes in 2014 and 27579 votes in 2019 while INC received 12018 votes in 2014 and 54128 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Kendujhar in 2019 by winning 5 seats. The remaining 1 seat was won by BJP. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –