Assembly Constituency Watch: Bhubaneswar North


Bhubaneswar North assembly constituency is located in Khordha district and consists of:  

5 Gram panchayats (Raghunathpur, Dadha, Kalyanpur, Barimunda and Kalarahanga) of Bhubaneswar block and Ward No. 1 to 11 & 13 of Bhubaneswar. 


Designated as a  General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bhubaneswar North | Machine Dalal
Bhubaneswar North Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 271059 and the constituency recorded 41.35% of polling, in real numbers- 112092 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout increase; out of the 297921 electors, 43.08% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers it was a reasonable jump-128348 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bhubaneswar North | Machine Dalal
Bhubaneswar North Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Susant Kumar Rout gained a vote share of 55.50% and defeated BJP’s Aparajita Mohanty whose vote share stood at 35.70%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Itish Kumar Pradhan with4.00% of vote share and an independent candidate Jugansu Sekhar Panda with 1.60% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhubaneswar North |Meradesh
Bhubaneswar North Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bhubaneswar North |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 73728 votes and 71193 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJP garnered 24971 votes in 2014 and 45779 votes in 2019 while INC received 8223 votes in 2014 and 5189 votes in 2019. BJD dominated the district of Khordha in 2019 by winning 7 seats. INC managed to win the remaining 1 seat. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –