Assembly Constituency Watch: Bijepur


Bijepur assembly constituency is located in Bargarh district and consists of:  

Bijepur block, Gaisilat block and Barpali block. 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Bijepur | Machine Dalal
Bijepur Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 207003 and the constituency witnessed a voter turnout that stood at 80.07%, in real numbers- 165747 voters. 2019 witnessed a turnout decrease; out of the 232175 electors, 78.97% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-183349 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Bijepur | Machine Dalal
Bijepur Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Naveen Patnaik gained a vote share of 60.30% and defeated BJP’s Sanat Kumar Gartia whose vote share stood at 29.20%. The remaining candidates in the fray were INC’s Ripunath Seth with 7.80% of vote share and an independent candidate with 1.50% vote share.  

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bijepur |Meradesh
Bijepur Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Bijepur |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, INC won the constituency and earned 53290 votes and 14344 votes in 2019. On the other hand, BJD garnered 52832 votes in 2014 and 110604 votes to win in 2019 while BJP received 30001 votes in 2014 and 53482 votes in 2019. BJD clean swept the district of Bargarh in 2019 by winning all 5 seats.  

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –