Assembly Constituency Watch: Banki


Banki assembly constituency is located in Cuttack district and consists of:  

Banki, Banki block, Banki-Dampada block and eight Gram panchayats (Narajmarthapur, Ramdaspur, Madhupur, Belagachhia, Dadhapatana, Kunheipada, Mundali and Sribantapur) of Barang block 


Designated as a General Constituency. 

Voter Turnout 

Voter Turnout |Banki | Machine Dalal
Banki Electoral Turnout Rates

During the 2014 elections, the total number of electors was 190156 and the constituency recorded a voter turnout of 76.88%, in real numbers- 146195 voters. 2019 witnessed a slight decrease in turnout; out of the 209767 electors, 76.11% of voters exercised their constitutional rights. In real numbers though it was a reasonable jump-159663 voters.    

Representation and Results  

Voter Turnaout | Banki | Machine Dalal
Banki Electoral Turnout Rates

2019’s assembly election winner, BJD’s Dev Ranjan Tripathy gained a vote share of 46.70% and defeated INC’s Debasis Patnaik whose vote share stood at 31.60%. The remaining candidates in the fray were BJP’s Subhransu Mohan Padhi with 20.40% vote share and SUCI’s Aravinda Behera with 0.50% of vote share. 

Voting History -2014 & 2019 

Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Banki |Meradesh
Banki Voter’s Choice Over the Years
Voter’s Choice Over the Years | Banki |Meradesh
District-Wise Electoral Results

In 2014, BJD won the constituency and earned 85809 votes and 74599 votes in 2019. On the other hand, INC garnered 42051 votes in 2014 and 50481 votes in 2019 while BJP received 8672 votes in 2014 and 32541 votes in 2019. SUCI got 763 votes in 2019 elections. BJD dominated the district of in 2019 by winning 8 seats.  The remaining 1 seat was won by INC. 

For access to raw data and the constituency map download our Meradesh app- available at both Appstore and Google Play store. Connect with our platform to explore collaboration opportunities.   

Data Source –