Manipur Phase-1: A Report

The first phase of the Manipur assembly polls included 38 seats out of the overall 60 seats. The elections covered five electoral districts: Imphal West, Imphal East, Bishnupur, Kangpokpi, and Churachandpur. A total of 173 candidates out of which 15 were female competed for the attention of 12 lakh eligible voters. 

According to the Turnout App, the voter turnout by the end of the day stood at 88.63%, surpassing the 2017 turnout figure of 86%, which till then was the highest on record.  Female voter turnout stood at 89.96% compared to Male at 87.29%. Over 175 transgenders exercised their rights. 


Voter Turnout 





Imphal East 


Imphal West 




In terms of fielding candidates, BJP has a presence in all the 38 seats while the Congress is contesting 35, the JD(U) 28, and the National People’s Party (NPP) is contesting 27 seats.   

Interestingly back in 2017, Congress emerged as the single largest party, winning 28 of the 60 seats. But the BJP, despite winning 21 seats, claimed the government, with the support of the National People’s Party and Naga People’s Front.