INC’s Punjab Candidate List – An In-depth Analysis

The Indian National Congress released its list of 117 candidates. Navjot Singh Sidhu- President of Punjab Pradesh Congress Committee is contesting from Amritsar East and CM Charanjit Singh Channi remains the INC’s main candidate for the upcoming elections.  

                           The Indian National Congress Party’s Punjab Candidate List

Two-Seat Candidate 

Chief Minister Charanjit Singh Channi is contesting from two constituencies – Bhadaur and Chamkaur Sahib.  

2nd Runner Up 

2 male candidates and a female candidate who lost to AAP were also given tickets to the upcoming assembly election.  

Lota Candidates 

There are 5 candidates who have shifted their allegiance to the INC. They include 3 candidates from AAP, 1 BSP candidate, and 1 PPOP candidate.  

1st Runner Up 

11 male and 3 female candidates who lost by a margin range of 0.39% to 30.39% were also given tickets. 

New Candidates 

The Indian National Congress gave tickets to 29 new candidates out of which 26 are male candidates and 3 are female candidates.  

Sitting MLAs  

64 candidates who won the 2017 assembly election with a margin range of 0.19% to 42.91% were also given the tickets for the upcoming State election. 61 are male candidates and 3 are female candidates. 7 of these MLAs are from the seats reserved for the SC category.  

We will be continuously evaluating the candidate list and sharing our insights. Stay tuned to checkout our data visualisations, explore electoral constituency data, take part in surveys, and engage in stimulating conversations. You can also download our app, available on both App store and Play Store